NaNoWriMo 2014

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

NaNoWriMo 2014 is upon us!

Nation Novel Writing Month is such a great motivator to get your pens or keys moving, so that you can show your creative self what you are made of.

This will be my first year participating, and thus far I am off to a great start. It is early on Day 3, and I have 6,513 words. I am fortunate enough to not have to work a day job, so it is certainly easier for me to get the words in than it would be for people working full-time jobs outside of the home that require their attention 40-plus hours a week.

I have never written a creative project of this magnitude before, so the quality of my work probably won’t be the most spectacular thing anyone has ever read — if we’re going for honesty here. My project featuring a damaged, yet strong female protagonist (which is the subject matter I know the most about) may never see the shelves of anyone except myself, but even so, I look forward to the experience of writing a project so large. It will prove to be of infinite value.

Even if a writer (there are no “aspiring” writers, in my opinion…anyone who dedicates themselves to the love and creativity of words should proudly call themselves a writer) is not aiming to write a full-length novel, NaNoWriMo can be a good time to get a routine started to write on a more consistent basis, even if it is only 250 words a day.

So tell me… Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? What is your project about? How do you feel about getting in the 1,667 words each day? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Happy Writing, everyone!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014

  1. I am also doing NaNoWriMo for the first time! Let me say, thank you for writing this post. I love that you believe that anyone who writes should call themselves a writer, regardless of publication or career. I could not agree with you more. Congrats on your great start and good luck for the rest of November!

    Like

Leave a Reply

