NaNoWriMo Day 6

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

The days keep coming and going, slipping through my fingers, while I have no idea what I have spent my time doing.

I have been in a complete brain fog for the past couple of days — partly from lack of sleep, but mostly from almost constantly thinking about my NaNoWriMo project. Do any of you experience this as well while working on a project like this?

Yesterday was my one day of great discipline thus far, as I got up at 5 a.m. to begin writing before the Monsters and the Husband woke up. It was a beautiful hour and a half… I sat in my Ikea Poäng chair, had my cup of homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte by my side, and I typed away until my littlest Monster woke up. I was able to get out around 1,200 words during that time, which greatly helped me feel more at ease the rest of the day.

Today has been a completely different story.

I turned off my alarm immediately when it chimed at 5 o’clock and slept for another hour or so until the littlest Monster beckoned for me to release her from her room.

It is now 2 o’clock in the afternoon and I am finally having my first free moments of the day, and here I am, writing this post instead of beginning my NaNoWriMo writing for the day. I’m telling myself I needed to get these thoughts written down and cleared out so that I could better focus on the big project. Maybe it’s just an excuse, maybe it’s legitimate.

No matter the reason I find myself here, I must get to work before responsibilities come calling in 45 minutes.

How are all of your projects coming along? Have you hit any walls yet, or is the writing still coming freely from your fingertips?

I wish you all success, and Happy Writing!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 6

  1. Hi, a fellow NaNoWriMo-er here! I’ve heard a lot of people say that ‘downloading’ your thoughts and distractions onto paper before you start trying to pick up a creative project again is a really good discipline, so maybe writing this post before you went back to the novel was exactly the right thing to do! Best of luck for the rest of the month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

