NaNoWriMo 2014 Conclusion

Guys, I know I’m a few days late at giving my closing statements for NaNoWriMo 2014, but I thought better late than never, right?

I finished the month at just under 30,000 words. That would be 20,000 words less than the NaNoWriMo goal, but I am considering it a success, nonetheless. I am just now engaging myself in the practice of writing “full time”, and I had never attempted such a large project before.

I have struggled with the instant gratification of short stories and free verse poetry — always dreaming of writing a novel, but never sitting down with the intention of dedicating myself to it.

NaNoWiMo changed all that.

Although I didn’t meet the word count goal within the month, I was able to realize that I can spend just a little bit of time each day toward a much larger goal.

I cheer for everyone that did finish and “win” NaNoWriMo by meeting the 50,000 word goal. I think they all did an amazing job! I am also cheering for all of the writers, like myself, that did not meet the word count goal, but gave everything they had to give in the month of November toward a fresh and big project.

I can’t say whether or not I’ll do NaNoWriMo again or not — it would all depend on where I am next November in my life circumstances and prospective projects. I think it’s a great thing for a lot of writers to try, at least once, but it certainly is not for everyone. And if you’re one of those writers that it didn’t quite work for – don’t worry! Don’t feel bad, you’re not alone.

I hope everyone feels accomplished and charged for all current and future writing projects – keep working at it!

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

